28 spokes enough?

I’m about to get a new set of wheels for the track (Dura-Ace - Sapim CX - Aerohead) and am wondering if 28 is enough for the torque etc that you put through them?

I’m still fairly new to the velodrome so haven’t go that much experience with these things.

Thanks!
-Garth

ps. What’s with the hating Velocity rims I’ve read on here? Is it cause they’re like pubic hair? Every cunts got one?

Velocity rims> they’re not expensive, they come in designer colours and they’re not made by french people…what’s not to like?

I just did a quick search… looks like Velocity is almost universally recommended and or used on this forum. There appears to be only one objection to them based on practical reasons:

Otherwise there are two instances of Velocity dislike, both seem to be based on aesthetics…

So really, no hatred at all. :slight_smile: Velocity good.

There are some stray remarks about them being less than true from new and more likely to warp and not eyeletted on the various bike forums… but they are cheaper then the rims they are compared to. If you want to spend more, do it and get a better rim.

And… smile.

Velocity rims are generally not pretty. But they are cheap and they work better than most other cheapie rims. Good value for money.

Highly recommended.

28 hole wheels will work fine as long as you’re not a heavy fella. But given the same hub and rim, a 32 or 36 hole wheel will feel slightly stiffer than a 28 hole one.

Des

That’s what I thought! :smiley:

I should have the new wheels early next week, looking foward to them!

velocity and mavic are the only rims reccomended by that famous touring bike shop in the states (insert name if anyone can remember it) apparently they are the only two companies that put out consitently true rims. velocity are unreal, a little heavier than most, especially deep Vs, but still rockin good rims.

and 28 is enough. no dished 28 is about as strong as a 40 spoke dished 130mm road wheel if i remember correctly.