a car rally... but on bikes!

my boss just asked me if this term we could run a bike ride for the kids, but you know, more like a car rally… but on bikes.

i said yeah, i’ve got some experience organizing things like that.

possible themes?

remembering, of course, that i work with juvenile delinquents.

have a look at MBO - Mountain Bike Orienteering - or Cyclegaines - rogaining on bikes for inspiration?

Sooooo… I don’t know you outside these forums, but when you say kids… what sort of age is it? And I am guessing you are a school teacher?
My wife is a primary school teacher (Year 1) so I could ask her as well?

My first thought is Tour de France. Teach the kids about France… the rally checkpoints could contain a poster that the kids researched and designed themselves with 5 facts on each poster. At the next checkpoint is a little quiz based on the previous checkpoint… and so on.

Troubled teens i believe.

You could call it “Death Race” Kind of like Battle Royale but with bikes.

//youtu.be/u6Oxd65q7vk

Why not take them to the dump, choose a bike fix it up pimp it out go on a ride.
plenty of lessons in that.

yeah, i’m a secondary school teacher. big kids. behaviour school.

i did look at orienteering. could be fun!

Ah, if thats the case. Then my original idea sounds a little lame.

What about something like the amazing race? You give them clues as to where they have to ride to. Once they get to the point, they have to complete some sort of challenge (blowing up a balloon after eating a dry weet-bix) before getting their next clue. All challenges could be timed, so the actual winner of the race isn’t the overall winner.

I actually remember seeing something done around Sydney on that getaway show.

Sydney’s own amazing race

From experience, orienteering usually means heaps of pot smoking and fucking in the bushes. I dont know what your kids are like, but i remember what me and my friends were like. so maybe keep that in mind.