Alloy or Steel for track racing/training

If you are, or are going to, ride/race track, what frame material would you prefer out of steel or Alloy?

And Why?

(and any cunt that mentions ‘steel is real’ is going get some prison style man love at the Grand Final Alleycat, 28th Sept.)

steel is real

no preference tho - i’m a lightweight rookie, both work fine as far as I can tell.

Doesn’t matter as long as it’s stiff and light which these days means alloy since I can’t afford custom steel.

Des

Steel, because lugs or fillet brazing looks nicer than welds.

And because my Ken is the best track bike ever in the history of track bikes. It’s so unbelievably good that I don’t ride it ever.

So as far as Alloy goes, racing it for track is fine and would be stiffer than steel. I personally hate Alloy with a passion, but a Avanti pista thingy has come up and I am weighing up its’ merits. Oh and there are those ‘fetish’ branded taiwan frames for cheap.

Nath, I knew you’d be up for ‘prison style man love’…

If it’s a good price then get it. If you want it for DISC then it will be fine - no bumps to ride over (except the occasional fallen rider) so stiff is good. And I know you like maximum stiffness anyway.

It’s always about the looks with you isn’t it?

I know someone who’ll ride it for you.

Thanks gentlemen…

BTW Nick, what’s going on with the Tommasini?

A cranky guy with lots of tattoos bought it.

Good for you

Bummer for me, oh well…

Steel is real.

Bring it.

Steal is real if only for the decreased efforts it takes to produce :evil:
Alloy’s great for DH frames that would only last a few years anyway, but I prefer the feel of steal.

Of the two bikes I’ve ridden, one steel, one alloy, I like my alloy one more.