Chain ring bolt tension

Tried a search with no luck so here goes…

Does anyone torque their chainring bolts? If so what too? I suspect it wont need much.
Also do you/would you use locktite on them?

I’ve recently replaced my front chain ring and have found the bolts loosen up quite easily, and yes I’m doing them up tight with the correct tools (I’ve been a mechanic for more than a few years)
Or are there any ‘good’ chain ring bolts on the market to buy?

TIA
Mark

I’ve snapped a few alloy ones over tightening them (this is after unscrewing / screwing them a few times). I’ve heard the steel ones are the best. Never used loctite, but I’ve considered it. I just dab a bit of grease on the threads before screwing them together.

What I like about my Sugino 75’s is that the bolt screws into the crank. No dicking around with tools.

I’ve never had any problems with chainring bolts, cheap through to DA. I’ll always check them after the first ride ride though. I don’t bother to use a torque wrench - I just use a long (~20cm) allen key with firm pressure. I’m sure you know, but for others reading, make sure the threads are clean and greased. I don’t like using loctite in general.

One problem I’ve seen on some crank conversions is that the stack bolts don’t clamp down on the chainring and crank sufficiently - they bottom out ever so slightly and can then vibrate loose. This can happen with combinations like road double stack bolts and an extra thick track chainring, or using track stack bolts and a 3/32 chain ring.

Shimano advises 12Nm on DA road cranks, though I’ve seen 12-16Nm on others.

i too had this problem. i had my bike in at the lbs recently for another matter and they have loctite’d them for me. so far so good but it’s only been a few days.

hopefully noone comes out of the woodwork saying to never loctite chainring bolts or i’ll be slightly concerned…

if you hear of any other solutions i’d love to hear about them in case the loctite doesn’t work.

cheers

rolly