Cog threading question...

Excuse the multi-forum cross post but, HELP!

So I got an 18t Roselli cog today, to put on my Zeus rear hub. The threading on the cog is 1.37 x 24TPI and I was assured the size was correct by a suitably reputable source (Shifter Dan).

The problem is this: When I start to thread it on, I get about half a turn in and it catches. I put a little pressure on it with my chain whip, thinking there might have been a minor deviation in the threading or something. Problem was, it didn’t get easier to turn.

When I removed the cog, it looks like it’s eating the hub threading alive. Nasty burrs and bit of metal coming off. It’s only on the start of the hub threading, as I didn’t go any further than that, so I haven’t trashed the hub.

I’m guessing it’s not really a good thing, but this is the first fixed gear I’ve built so I’m no expert on the matter.

Am I doing it wrong?

Any help is much appreciated!

What cog did the hub originally come with?

It didn’t come with a cog, I bought the wheelset NOS from an LBS.

You may have just cross threaded it by screwing not 100% straight (Craig?). Your LBS may be able to clean up the thread for you.

(edit: Des already asked about old cog - duh)

sounds like there might be a burr in the threading of the cog.

• Joel

The threads on a zeus hub should be standard so I don’t think it’s a problem with the cog.

Either you cross threaded the cog in the first place or there might be a burr somewhere like pod suggested. You should be able to thread a cog into a hub by quite easily by hand. Did you apply any grease on the threads?

Des

Is grease on the threads, GOOD or BAD?

Grease = good!

Thanks guys. I think I did seat it badly the first time. I’ll take it into the LBS and see if they can clean up the minor messy bit at the start of the thread for me.