Do it all bike shoe

Hey dude burgers!

My bday is coming up - which means I get a present from the wife. This year I have decided to get some cycling shoes because the ones I have now are falling apart and creaking when I ride which pisses everyone off who I am riding with.

I don’t want to go Specialized again because they aren’t as durable as I would like them to be as you can see by the below pics (current and previous shoes shown - first pic I have shoved a yellow sock to show the holes). I don’t really have an idea of what is out there at the moment. For everyones info, I use the shoes for commuting, road riding, mountain biking, sitting at cafés and pubs and also the rare CX race. I also have a pretty wide foot.

Any ideas on what would be a good shoe out there at the moment?

I have been using the Giro Privateer for 2 years now doing all the above… only just starting to show wear after returning from NZ.
Would recommend assuming they have fixed the buckle issue (which I’m pretty sure is the case)

Giro is a model that i am pretty keen to look into - I just need to find somewhere that stock them in Canberra.

That’s some well used shoes right there. Recently I bought these Shimano SH-M163 and they’re OK, but would be a bit too bulky for road use (nothing beats a nice pair of light comfy road shoes for long rides on the road IMO). They’re very comfy and well made though, and I find them surprisingly light.

Certainly not as classy as those privateers suggested above. I was in a hurry and the Shimanos were cheap (last years’s model) so I went for them.

Sidi are great if you get the mid-higher end models. Very good durability.
My next mtb shoe is going to be Northwave i reckon

I am also keen on this - need new shoes do to everything just like Ezy - except cafes & rarely pubs.

currently leaning towards the Privateer or the shimano M200:
http://www.shimano-lifestylegear.com/gl/fw/products/offroad/022sh_m200.php?pSccontentsPro