first time buying a frame from overseas!

I’m buying a merckx road frame/forks/headset online that’s being shipped from colombia (will the tubes be packed with cocaine? who knows) and have been quoted $400 US for insured/tracked shipping to aus, is this normal? I’ve never bought anything like this before and I’m completely new to the process
cheers

i had a smiliar issue trying to get my frame shipped from the US a few months ago and was quoted USD$400 (frame only).
i ended up being lucky enough to have my friend bring it back with her.

apparently it used to be cheaper but all the postage rates went up last year or something…

one option i was told about was mail forwarding so you could potentially look into that but i’m not sure how it would work from colombia but here’s a link >>>

http://www.myus.com/

good luck!

Way too much, don’t pay over $100AUD for postage under any circumstances! I paid $60US for my salsa frame to be shipped, thought that was about the norm.

USPS postage is pretty steep compared to many other countries. Don’t know about $400beans though. Jump on USPS website. I’m sure they have a postage calculator.

I’ve had quotes for frameset shipping from the US ranging between about $US80 to over US$700 but the last frame I brought in cost me around a hundred bucks for shipping. Some US sellers will only ship internationally via the international courier companies like UPS, DHL or Fedex and US$400 is in the vicinity of what they charge, based on volumetric weight with express delivery, tracking, insurance, customs clearance, signed door to door, etc etc.

The last frame I was looking at from the US (but didn’t buy) was going to be slightly more for shipping than the purchase price of the frame, but total was still going to cost well under aussie retail.

That said, if you’re buying it from Colombia (???) the couriers might be the only option (or it really is packed with cocaine and a mule is bringing it in).