Fixed/Fixed vs Fixed/Free

Hi all,

A friend of mine has recently bought a fixed/fixed wheel on the advice she could run a freewheel on the fixed side.

The LBS advised against this, saying this setup could strip the hub.

Can I get some more information to give to her about running a freewheel on a fixed (shorter) thread? Thanks alot guys…

Adam.

bullshit. You can put a freewheel on a fixed hub no problem. Well, I’ve never had any trouble doing that anyway. I’m sure others here have too.

The longer thread on the freewheel side of a hub is obviously designed for a purpose though?

That is what the bikeshop is saying. When you apply force, you CAN strip the thread.

Conundrum.

Now, I’m no engineer, but:

Yeah, it’s for ease of machining, nothing else. It’s extra work to (a) cut a lockring thread or (b) part the excess threaded area from the hub, which would then require a different spacer / bearing setup on that side.

The LBS are idiots. If you can use a fixed sprocket with its thread width, then a free wheel will work with no issues either. The forward motion stresses are the same.

Thats what I was going to write - and I am an engineer.

• Theres no moment arm difference (and if there was, wouldnt have anything to do with stripping the hub).

Two engineers can’t work out how to thread a freewheel… we’re all doomed! :evil:

Who is the second and what has threading to do with stripping? - unless you mean tapping after stripping. :evil:

You can redesign it for them :smiley:

Freewheel on a fixed thread on my wife’s bike. no dramas. the LBS is staffed by morons.

Au contraire Horatio. The engineers are fine and dandy with the reduced threaded area.

Think about how you would be able to strip the threads. There are plenty of ways to do it, but this isn’t one of them.

(I may be the 2nd engineer and I think H means ‘threading the f/w onto the hub’)

You guys lost me at hello, but problem solved, I think.