Gumtree...

Has anyone brought any bike bits of gum tree before? is it safe? The seller is interstate. Can I trust them?

If I get funked up, is there a way to get my money back or do I cut my loses?

From what I understand you cannot get a receipt like you do with ebay.

HELP!

I have never used it before… But a quick look through here (Gumtree Help Desk) should provide more info.

I assume that it would be safe, seeing how you will have to register your details to join and such…

cheers mate!!! i will have a browse now!

I’ve used Gumtree once before. About 2 years ago. It’s OK. No trouble.

was the seller interstate?

as with most trading sites, ie tading post, carsales etc, its buyer beware.

No feedback like ebay etc, it is a free site so ay scumbag could be on there.

having said that, ive used it, but not interstate.

i’ve used it interstate but i had a mate check it out and pick it up for me. i did deposit the cash directly into his account but i suppose my mate knew where he lived…

not sure if i would’ve had i not known someone that could check it out for me. too easy for them to get your cash and never send it/reply to emails etc…

you don’t know someone that could do that for you?

Ahh I couldn’t remember whether it was interstate or not. But I remember that I bought from a proper shop.

nah no one, i even tried asking my friends to see if they had friends from there. no go.

i told the guy that i would deposit 1/2 of what the item is worth into his account and the other half on delivery.

he was cool with that, and his email seem legit.

i even got my friends to read it and they said he sound pretty genuine.

well if you’re happy that it seems legit then go for it.

good luck with it

get postal insurance, and a registered option, so there’s no chance of it “going missing in transit”

done and done…

Western Union? In Australia?

SCAM!