Help with floor pump/presta valves

Hi guys,

This is a real gumby question but ever since i started riding road bikes/fixed I have had trouble with pumping up the tires using presta valves. I am finding that after reaching desired pressure I have a lot of trouble disengaging the pump and it involves either pulling with substantial effort or pushing then pulling it to get it off. This is obviously not good for the valve as I usually damage one every 2 months or so. Any handy tips.

This is what I do;
Unscrew valve on presta and push down to release some air
Push appropriate pumphead on and press down solidly (I find if it’s not pressed down hard then air wont enter at all) and lock latch
Pump to desired pressure
Unlock latch and try and remove.

Any guidance mucho appreciated.

Cheers
Pies

Buy a new pump.

What pump are you using? My silca can be a bitch to remove if (a) the valve stem is threaded and/or (b) the rubber insert in the pump head is new. If one or the other applies don’t just rip at the pump head or you’ll rip the valve stem out of the tube (sounds like you’ve discovered this for yourself) - try wiggling the pump head off - might help until the rubber wears a bit.
otherwise try to stick to tubes with smooth valve stems, they’re around.

Joe Blow!

turn it off and back on at the wall

get the smoothie tubes or try greasing the rubber pump seal

Lube it up before you blow it, awesome :sunglasses:

What about the little nut that sits half-way up the valve? Wind that to an appropriate height, this will stop the pump head ‘swallowing’ the whole valve. Start shallow and work your way down until the head actually attaches to the valve.

i

[=]

=

i

=
[=]

= etc