legal liability?

so, if i cut in front of a car to cross the street, slip up on the tram tracks and end up stuck under the car, am i responsible for the damage to that car? anyone?

did this happen to you today brendan?!

Depends on the circumstances…

If you cut in front of the car then most likely yes you would be responsible…

But then the driver has to sue you to get any cashola…

Now I’m no lawyer but I know one quite well :wink: and we were having a similar discussion the other day regarding liability if I was hit by a car door…

So many things to consider. The first answer is always no. I once worked in car insurance, making liability claims and pursuing people for their blood… it was horrible work. I always advised cyclist to hold out, even when i was trying to get them to pay (i’ve been hit and as far as i’m concerned it’s always the cars fault). I would wait until you hear from them or their insurers or send them a demand letter for damage to your bike.

What exactly happened, what street, was there a bike lane, was traffic stationary, or coming to a stop, how many lanes of traffic etc etc…

Oh, and are you and bike ok?

yeah, i’m ok. road bike is a bit worse for wear, but not too bad - rear mech fucked, front wheel needs a truing. i got a few grazes and bruises, but not much else.

so yeah, sydney rd, around 5. i move to the middle then go to cross the road to use the bank. thought i had the space but apparently didn’t. traffic was moving pretty fast.

the woman was pretty nice. very pregnant - i was kinda glad she didn’t go into labour right then and there. her bumper had a few scratches, but not much significant damage. ABS brakes are a few of my favourite things right now. we exchanged numbers, so i’ll wait and see what happens.