My 1st Fixed gear build

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to riding fixed, I live in Sydney’s Inner west and after selling my car because it got little to no use I was looking for a new mode of transport. I had been riding my Mountain bike to get around for a few months but was finding it kind of annoying riding it on the road and wanted something with skinny wheels and a unsprung frame and fork. I also wanted to attempt to ride fixed to experience something a little different.

Anyway I decided I didn’t want to just buy a catalogue bike so I thought id build something myself, that way I’d also get to learn how to put together and pull apart a bike.

Below is what I put together mainly from 2nd hand parts from ebay I chose and some advice/parts from some shops around Sydney.

I’m very happy with it, although it could probably be a bit lighter but I don’t mind the heavy back wheel and heavy old frame, it’s still great fun to ride. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to a free wheel bike again.

I figure this bike will cop a bit of crap from some forum users (and purists) because I know what forums are like and I have a b43 wheel but I don’t mind, say whatever you may think.

The only thing wrong is that you say you will never go back to a free wheel again. That’s a lie. Just wait…
p.s. It’s a good lookin bike too man, good stuff.

I reckon it looks alright. Parts list? Your saddle looks to be too far back, which may suggest the frame is a bit small for you.

Is it some wierd optical illusion that makes the front wheel look smaller than the rear?

It’s the machined rim I think.

Yeah it’s the machined wheel makes the front look smaller but they are both 700c.

I should probably move the saddle forward (it being far back is proably my in experience at seting up a bike), trust me the frame is huge not sure of the dimentions but most friends of mine cant ride it, but then again most of my friends are a lot shorter than me I’m 6’3"