Nespresso- marketing wank or decent coffee?

I’d be interested to hear from our resident coffee snobs here (users coffee & Blakey!). I’m seeing these machines more and more in peoples houses and at the office.
A colleague made a coffee for me last week and it was okay but nothing memorable.

I’m no coffee expert, but I find the Nespresso concept a tad flawed- isn’t the idea that you want the coffee beans to be roasted and ground as recently as possible? If you have the ground coffee in the little capsules, isn’t the oxidation already occurring, especially since it’s probably ground months ago?

They now have a desktop Nespresso machine:

Pixie

it’s better than instant coffee, and the machines are pretty cheap, but don’t expect amazing results out of it, and you are limited with your coffee purchases

fixed that for you :slight_smile:

these machines are designed for lazy, dumb people who like to claim that they drink “real” coffee, yet can’t be bothered putting in the effort to actually make it.

^ haha yes, I totally agree, it’s textbook closed product- a bit like Apple

mAY BE GOOD FOR THE WORKPLACE YEAH? As in I don’t really have the time to froth milk and prepare coffee.

I’m going to go out on a limb and say decent.

Being a long time drinker of short mac’s, i have to say i have had consistently good results out of these machines.

I too first thought that it was a gimmick and crap, but i was pleasantly suprised.

I spend a lot of my time out on the road, working in supply chain/logistics for maccas, mostly being forced to drink the crap they palm off at McCafe’s. But there doesnt seem to be any real good coffee shops around in Perth that I have found either. Most leave a bitter or burnt taste in my mouth.