New to fixies looking for one? advice please

Hey all.
im new to fixies and i had the plan to convert an old repco traveller but it is going to cost too much and be too hard so i was wondering if anyone know’s where i can get a fixie (new or second hand) for under $600. i live in ascot vale, vic. if anyone can point me in the right it would be much appreciated.

cheers jake.

Hey man, I got a bike sitting around on my balcony, Powder coated “track frame”, Alex fixed/free wheels, cheapo saddle, drops, no brake, shimano 105 cranks, running 48x18 setup…

I don’t need it any more if you are interested…

what size are you after.?..

I will take photos tonight and post/email them…

And if will definately be under $500!

yeh that sounds about right.
im about 6 foot so i am looking for around a 57’’
if you could PM the photos too me it would be great.
where are you located?

Cyclic across from new market station may have something on special that tickles your fancy.

are you talking about flemington cycles?

nah.
you know where safeway is?
if you head towards new market station from the safeway carpark and go through the little tunnel, then turn left and cross the road you will see a little white store called cyclic.

oh sweet man.
thanks for that i will pay them a visit soon then.

wooh ascot vale!
what seems to be the problem with converting your old road bike?
if you have the frame you should be able to get the rest for well under 600?
but yeah the guy that owns cyclic is really friendly and only a short ride from ascot vale

Yeah im totally interested in grabbing a new complete for super cheap.
does this shop carry cheap bikes?

Check out this post…

http://fixed.org.au/forums/index.php/topic,4822.0.html

KHS Flite100 seem like an OK bike for around the $600 mark. And its a nice frame so you can always put some nicer bits and pieces on it when you get the cash.