newbie fixie build

Hey everyone.
This is my second post… I’m abit of a newbie, although i have had some experience with bikes in my younger years and didn’t even know what a fixie was until today…

… After reading heavymetal’s reply to my help post i thought i’d post a photo of what i picked up today and see what you more knowledgable/experienced peeps think about what i can do with this bike…

Here’s a pic:

I do want to keep expenses to a minimum and do value your opinion so what do ya’rekon?

Buy a cell,

Build a roadie with it.
If you want a “fixie”, buy a “fixie”.

put it back on the hard garbage pile.

turn it back into this

Where are you based, I got a real cheap frame you might be interested in.
But as for converting a roadie you have to buy some special spacers on your rear hub and it gets complicated etc etc etc

Dayne speaks the truth: Australia’s HOTTEST Fixie is BACK and Only $199!

You’d probably spend double that just getting that old thing rolling. Not even worth it, unless you really relish the challenge.

Can anyone speak with actual experience regarding the quality of those Cell fixiebikes? I see a lot of people on this forum recommending them.

…and yes, I know they are only two hunge.

I was going to strip it, paint the frame, get some wheels, get cranks, get bars, seatpost, seat… May i ask why this is a waste of time?

I’m based in Perth Classical…
I’ve still got all the parts as it came fully assembled so i could put it back together as a roadie…

It’s a waste of time unless you relish a challenge. You could easily spend more than the $200 a cell fixxxey costs just to fix up something that may or may not be worthwhile. Does it fit you? Does it have sentimental value? Does it need every moving part replaced? Do you have the skills and tools to do what is needed?

Just asking these questions because so many people before you have attempted the same thing, then afterwards have come back and said “Should have bought a complete”.