opinions on bent forks

Had a small run in with the back of a car the pulled out in front of me two days ago. Doesn’t appear to be any damage to the bike, and just a little sore shoulder for myself.

Looking at it now, I think my forks might be bent back ever so slightly.
What do you guys think? And if so, does it matter? It’s just my beater…

There are no ripples on the TT or DT near the HT.

Cheers

I’m no expert, but I thought it would be okay if it was just your beater…just tightening the geo brah!

…these guys with NJS beaters.

If you don’t mind stacking it again when it folds then dont worry about it. Me, I would swap it.

Maybe slightly bent? It’s kind of hard to tell. I’ve known plenty of people to run slightly bent forks on their beaters with no issues. try riding no hands to see how the steering feels.

Never steered straight in the first place… → http://www.fixed.org.au/forums/f9/headset-not-steering-straight-19191/

Maybe it’s been like this all along haha…

Snail and dead legs both raise good points, i’d see if it handled straight too and go from there

Take it to a shop for an insurance quote… they’ll tell you and make a call from there…

get your shoulder looked at too. That’s why 3rd Party Insurance is compulsary.

in most states except Victoria…

For steel forks only slightly bent it should just be a question of handling above the danger of failing, especially for a pub beater. Riding no hands is one thing, but also see how it performs under braking (if you run a front brake). When I bent my forks the bike pulled hard in one direction when I braked hard … completely reduced my confidence riding in traffic.

^ learn something new every day.

Feel sorry for you guys. :frowning:

Maybe he can bend it back?

Maybe look at some before and after shots if you have the same angle?

I wouldn’t feel confident on bent forks, surely it can’t be too hard to find another set?