To convert or not convert...

Hey hey,

I’m a newbie so go easy. I was curious about where people stood on building fixed gear bicycles from roadbikes/roadbike frames. Obviously there’s a huge mix out there, but I wonder what the common beliefs are around building a fixed gear bicycle and frame choice.

I’m building one up at the mo from a track frame so I hadn’t even thought about it as an option, however I’m curious as to what others think…

if you have a track frame then use that, generally track frames will have a tighter geometry and are a frame that is built to be a fixed gear bike- so you’re going to have an easier time getting your chainine etc right.
Having said that if you’re just getting into it often a conversion is a far cheaper and more accessible option. If you are doing your first conversion then don’t go and hack off all the braze ons and cable guides right away, you may live to regret it and also you may find down the track you want to make it back into a geared roadie.
There are plenty of affordable options out there for cheap track frames- the eighth inch scrambler frameset for example. Also most of the conversions around are old 10 speed frames that take 27inch wheels not 700c, so when you replace them with a brand new set of track wheels they are slightly smaller. Makes it harder to fit a brake, and also the look like shit.
Anyway that’s just my opinion, when i first got into fixed gears I built up an old road frame, had a heap of fun doing it and learning stuff along the way and eventually got my hands on a track frame (and really noticed the difference). Though nowadays because of how cheap a new track frameset (scrambler etc.) is I wouldn’t bother with a conversion.

If your bike’s rear wheel spacing is 120mm, has long horizontal dropouts and cranks with a standard 130 bcd, then it’ll be a piece of cake - and much cheaper than something new.