Clothing, &c

Hi,

Anyone have any recommendations on shoes for use with crankbrothers candy Cs? This is my first time riding clipless, so I’m open to suggestions.

Also, any recommendations on autumn/winter riding gear? I’ve been in shorts and tshirts the past couple of weekends, and getting a bit chilly.

Cheers guys,
Romesh

Shoes? Pick the ones that fit. Sounds dumb, but ive seen dudes with expensive shoes that hurt their feet. Find the best ones for your foot and go from there, as all makes of shoe have different ‘cuts’. Feature-wise, personally i like shoes with a ratchet strap, but they tend to be a bit more expensive. As far as eggbeaters go, i used them with shimano mtb shoes (with a soft-ish rubber sole around the cleat) and they seemed to dig trenches in the sole. Didn’t really affect walking/clipping though.

For winter, i suggest wool jerseys, 3/4 pants, windstopper vests… i like having a bit of airflow around the limbs, know-what-i-mean?

What Spuddy said.

Also, decide whether you want shoes to ride in or shoes to walk in. Stiffer soles are better for riding but not for walking. Soft soles will give you sore feet after riding longer distances.

What size shoe do you need?

Bike shops often have shoes on sale in smaller and larger sizes when they’re trying to clear stock. If you’re lucky enough to have feet that aren’t size 43-46 that might be a place to find a bargain.

Otherwise, trudge around some bike shops and just try lots of shoes on. You should be able to narrow it down to brands that fit you well. Personally I’ve only had Carnacs for the last 5 or 6 years because they fit me really well. Unfortunately they tend to be pricey but I’ve always been able to get them on sale. My MTB shoes are getting a bit worn out now so I’m kind of hunting for shoes too.

Normally I’d spam you now about going to see what Dan has to offer, but since you were there on Saturday that won’t be necessary :wink: