Digital Audio Workbench for absolute beginners

Hey! I’m hoping someone here is deeply in the know about this.

I had an idea the other day to stop shielding my kid from technology and to use it in a creative way with her, rather than look at instagram together.
I thought we’d get a kick out of making some songs, so I googled “how to make music on a computer” and I’ve ended up looking at “pro tools - first” it has a bunch of instruments included, i guess you play them using the computer keyboard, maybe is free?, can record a bunch of layers and hopefully loop and playback… this is exactly what i want to do with her. Will pro tools first do it? Does something else do it cheaper? Do all of these things work on linux? I’m also thinking about buying a new computer, so is there anything on a mac or windows or linux os that is better than the rest?

thanks in advance, as always.

Garage band on a mac or ipad is what your looking for or buy an old four track

There are heaps of options, just depends on how deep you want to go - both in complexity and cash.

• Pro Tools First will do what you want but I personally found Pro Tools to be about as exciting to use as Excel and very expensive.
  • Garageband is great for beginners. Free with any Apple thing. Probably the easiest to use but also a bit limiting.
  • FL Studio is something a lot of people within electronic music began with. It’s easy to just start sequencing ideas, not that great for recording audio.
  • Ableton Live I’ve used for over a decade and love it. It can get complex but I find it’s pretty intuitive for beginners. Can play in it using the computer keyboard.
  • Stagelight is multiplatform but has some restrictions on free versions (I can’t remember). I haven’t used it.
  • LMMS might be a good option for Linux. I haven’t used it.

There’s some stranger options too like Korg DS-10 the DS, Korg DSN-12 for 3DS, or Nintendo LABO keyboard for Switch.