identify my casati

hello all, dont ask me why/how, but i just won the bidding on this bike in belgium!( wasnt even looking for one all that much anyway)

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=290339814523&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

so i was wondering what ive managed to get myself into… it does look like a lovely frame (if we can confirm that its genuine…), but i’ll need to source some forks for it. And then theres the issue of finding the right gruppo. As ive only just realised im buying it, thought id put the word out and ask for some tips as im a relative newbie to the whole scene.

cheers!

does it come with a fork??

well, the fork isn’t listed in the ebay listing and the OP said he needs to find a new fork for it. lets just put two and two together, what answer do you get?

yeah well its looking like im going to have to dig around for a fork. the originals are chromed with matching pantographs, but i think for the time being im going to have to just find a similar era fork with a similar rake. would have been a cracker deal if it did come whole though!

Not sure what you wish to indentify? very late 80’s to early 90’s - maybe a little later but it not too late as it’s columbus SLX. their own proprietary lugs and fancy cast top eyes for the seat stay attachment.

Cool bikes, not many in Oz but a mate of mine rode one back in the day. Finding an original fork won’t be easy. There’s a bike shop in Park Slope, Brooklyn NY (start googling) that had at least 30 of these framesets (All NOS) hanging from the rafters in 2004 when I last visited. Major eye candy. Hit 'em up, make sure they see pics of yours to match a fork with and ask 'em (politely) for any info you can glean about it’s production.

Keep in mind that an original NOS Casati fork will likely cost you almost as much as the frame you bought. It’s important but not that important. Then again finding any good quality classic era road fork in chrome is never gonna be cheap.