PAINT

Hey,
I’m just about to repaint an old bike frame and I was wondering if anybody out there could throw me some pointers to aid this attempt.
I’ve never done it before. But, I’m thinking a decent sand, a base layer primer and then some spray paint. My experience in the past with aerosol paints is that they mark and chip away easily.
What about powder coating, is this expensive?
Does anyone know of a professional in Melb for such a job?

Cheers.

do a search of the forum, then ask questions

I think powder coat would be the way to go. As you said, spray paint isn’t all that durable. If you want to save some money you could easily strip it yourself with some chemical stripper and then clean if up with some sand paper or a wire brush fitting for a drill (thats what I do). That way you wouldn’t need to pay for the sand blast, just the powder coat.

nah bollocks. Paint isn’t all that durable if you like to regularly throw rocks at your frame. But if you look after it, it lasts many years just fine.

Powder is preferred by many because it’s cheap (I reckon). Paint always looks better (I reckon).

Re: Snowflake

And how ‘cheap’ is a powder coat exactly? I was under the impression that it was rather expensive…

I recently did the whole de-rust with sandpaper and that drill attachment thingo and that worked out well. I sprayed it which also came out well. However. First ride after it was built up I rode over a slight gravely patch and chipped all up the bottom tubing. Spraying doesnt last but is cheap and easy. Having said that id probaly go the powder coat from now on.

Painting yourself can yield good results if done correctly. If done poorly…well it can look pretty average :cry:

If you use aerosol it will inevitably get chips here and there, depends on the type of riding you do really.