Perth's f#&$ed. Let's move to Canberra.

Not really, I don’t mind Perth but in any case looking to move to Canberra in 12 months with my Partner prior to the glint in the corner of my eye coming into reality.

We have both never been to Canberra, bit it’s proximity to National Parks, Mountains and high levels of education and a relatively low median age all point to us enjoying the change of scenery.

So whilst this is in the early stages, it would be good to get some first hand knowledge about the town.

Where should we look at renting?

I’m an engineer by profession, anyone work in the industry? How is the job market?

How is the cyclocross / bike packing / general booze filled shenanigans in Canberra?

Bit of an open ended question really, just looking forward to any advice associated with the move really.

Paging the Mayor, Mayor of Canberra, you’re required in this thread.

Hello! I can answer most things for you - the employment question might be a bit hard to answer at this point. Can you let me know some sort of budget for renting and your must haves etc? I can offer a few suggestions then.

I moved from Perth 6 years ago and have #noragrets.
We are spoilt for choice for bikepacking. There’s heaps that you can ride to from Canberra, or hop in the car for 2-3 hours and go to Jagungal, Thredbo, Blue Mountains, Budawangs, or any of the parks near the coast.

I have no idea about the engineering job market here but if you have experience working for government/on government projects then that’d be super handy.

Most good.

I’d say 350 to 450 a week, more or less depending if we both get a job for the move. The main requirement is for somewhere doggo friendly. Centralish is always a bonus.