Spray paint Like a PRO / getting a BLING finish to paint job....

Just thought I’d post this up from ‘ehow.com’. It states the obvious, but thought if it was stickied it would save people a lot of time for probably one of the most posted questions. Also, it’s worth noting the following (In BOLD for highlight)

I, myself, have painted many, many, many frames but just as a hobby @ home. I have no training or skills in this arena so I’m going to keep this nice and simple. I have NO professional experience but have found the secret to finishing the job properly. For all those wondering how to get an awesome finish, here’s the BEST advice I can give other than the obvious; good paints etc… Most forum posts and ehow go on about technique and rubbing back, all of which is important, but in the past Ive done some GREAT work, but it just didn’t seem to have that super smooth, glossy finish like you get from the shop… What’s the trick? SIMPLE, read below :slight_smile:

[b]You MUST use a cutting/rubbing compound after you’ve finished your last coat of paint. Before doing anything you need to let the paint dry for a few days (usually 2 weeks should be good to be sure as if you go to early youre probably gunna have to repaint the whole frame :frowning: ). The rudding compound removes the ‘Overspray’ or top coat of the paint which is only loosely attached to the frame. You will notice when you use the rubbing compound that some paint DOES come off but this is fine. Rub the compound unidirectionally (not circles) and clean the rag or get a new one when there’s to much mess on it (don’t be a tight arse and use an oily rag!).

Once you’ve cut the paint back clean it down (soapy water it perfect and all the compound etc will come off. Dry it pretty thoroughly and then get TURTLE WAX or similar and rub the frame down. IT COMES UP AMAZING. I have struggled with getting things spot on for ages and just couldn’t figure out that final step and thats how simple it is.[/b]