Street to Track Skills

Majority of us ride our fixxies all over the street, up steep hills, downhill at 200 rpm, in and around obstacles…basically doing all our normal riding on a fixed gear.

Now, do you think that these skills would create up ‘upper hand’ when racing on the track?

I found racing on the track alot more intense than pushing the envelope on the road.

You might think you have good bike handling skills, but you get schooled very quickly. Staying calm in a 60km/hr sprint while someone tries to force you of your line can be interesting.

Track racing is about tactics, reading the body language of other riders, know when to make them hurt, being smooth and racing smart.

Just putting it all out will not win you races.

I am still learning, but things are starting to click.

Putting your brain in your left jersy pocket also helps. :twisted:

I have enough trouble riding at Brunswick on my own. I’d be lucky to finish a track race.

Hang on, I’d be luckier to even get an entry!

Riding the streets and being aware of everything around you can easily be transferred onto the track. Esp if you start off racing in the lower grades.

Track riders (on the track) are basically hack roadies looking for a thrill, essentially no real skill with the bike (hope this doesn?t offend someone). But they make up for it with tactics and bunch skills.

To ride on someone?s wheel at 50+ kph and feel two dudes looking to pass you on the right, the ability of many track riders to force you into a hole or out to the fence, can in the beginning be intimidating. However it doesn?t take much to show these guru’s ‘the boy’s go skills’ (or girl).

I’ve found road skills like accident avoidance (quick left or right) and drafting cars, trams, trucks etc have been the most useful. Oh yeh and power. Coz we ride trackies all day you’d be surprised how much power you can lay down on the wood.

Head down to DISC ASAP… Thursday nights from 6:30 (warm-up) race from 7:30pm.