total newbie build up

hey folks,

so I’m recently back from a 6 week honeymoon in America and have fallen in love with fixed wheel riding. After spending the past 18 years riding a road bike, I’ve decided to convert one of my older bikes into a fixie. I don’t plan on asking newbie questions to annoy you all. instead I’ll slowly post pics as things happen.

the donor frame is an old 1994 Giant CFR2 in perfect condition. the geometry from what I can gather through research isn’t to far off being acceptable. if I still had my custom built Mitchell I’d be using that, but alas a ute broke me and it in numerous places a long time ago.

measurements in cm
head angle 17 or 73 degrees (depending on your 0 point)
seat angle 17 or 73 degrees (depending on your 0 point)
effective top tube 57
chainstay 40.8
bottom bracket 26
offset 4.5
wheelbase 90
seat tube 59
head tube 15.5
crank length 17

first things to look for will be the gear set and a new rear hub. I’m looking to initially run a flip-flop hub (42/15), will probably buy it online as I’m not sure of the local stores that stock this gear YET. The current deep v rims would come up a treat with a lick of paint, so no need to replace them. then I’ll be engineering the track ends to replace the current vertical drop outs.

the thing is, am I nuts using this frame?

hell if you can engineer anything rather than just bitch and nit pick like the rest of us around here no go ahead use the road frame… i have ridden both track and road frames and a track frame is tighter and more twitchy which is nice and responsive but for hakin aroujnd on the street anything goes a good wheel set, cranks, and bars of your desire ( dont mention bullhorns here) and presto we all get to comment… keep us all posted…fuk i wish i could engineer/weld/man stuff…