When to replace a chain?

So I’ve been using an Izumi nickel-plated 1/8 chain for about 1 & 1/2 years on my commuter bike. It’s performed really well and is rock solid reliable.
I probably ride 150km a week on it.

At what point do you replace the chain? I can feel tight and loose spots forming in the chain (maybe it’s the chainring), and it feels like the whole drivetrain is getting worn.

Is 1 & 1/2 years a good timeframe to replace it?

Depends what type of person you are. Some people
Replace it when it feels shit
Replace it when something snaps
Get a chain stretch tool and check it with that and replace it when its over stretched…

So as with many things in life, its up to you

My understanding was that chain wear tools are more relevant for geared chains. Fixed should be a lot more forgiving, especially given its 1/8?

Isn’t it something like, 12 inches centre rivet to centre rivet? Anything more and it’s stretched.

Chain wear tools aren’t really going to work on a 1/8 track chain. There’s less wear due to the bigger size, wider cogs, and lack of shifting.

Personally, I swap my chain every year. I ride brakeless, so I figure it’s better safe than sorry. I’ve currently got an old chain being used by a kid who rides DJ/park and he hasn’t had any issues with it, so it’s not like it was worn out.

Swap it when it feels right.

Seriously? Maybe if it’s worn you should replace it :roll:

Buy a new bike chain/cog/chainring, because if the whole thing is worn, you waited too long to replace your chain…

Don’t they just measure chain length stretch, which would be the same fucked/non-fucked length no matter what width? The pitch is the same.

Note to self: never ask spud a simple question… :wink:

cog/chainrings are fine.

The chain is the consumable right?