Civil Engineering

Hi guys / Gals.

Just curious if anyone has studied or is studying Ba civil engineering or similar. Contemplating going back to study and wanted to speak with anyone studying the coarse to understand how ahrd the mathematics and physics components are.

Cheers, Simon

I’ve done bachelor of civil and am finishing master of structural this year (both at Melbourne Uni). Feel free to pm/post more specific questions.
Reuben

Shit and concrete. All you need to know.

quoted for surprising accuracy

More like shit flows down hill, payday thursday.

Yep I’ve done BEng(Civil) and I’ve been working in Industrial Structures for the last 5 years. The Maths you’ll need for the structural analysis stuff can get quite tricky when you get into large matrices that don’t seem to have any numbers in them (WTF?!?). You’ll learn what you need to know so as long as you understood differentiation etc you should be ok. I think Monash (the best Civil engineering course in the Universe) makes you do 1st year Maths/Physics if you didn’t do higher level at school or you’ve been out a while.

It’s the industry to be in - get on board!

just do architecture. That way you don’t have to worry about any engineering stuff, or building stuff, or gravity in general, or even what your client actually wants to be honest. It’s a pretty sweet gig.

qft

I did BEnvEng at Monash, but essentially work in Civil (water). Civil isn’t just building roads and filling the skies with steel. I work in Eco-Hydraulics, simulating the hydraulics of large wetlands and forests to achieve environmental outcomes. #xavierruddgotnothingonme

I’ve been out almost 7 years now, working in consulting. Happy to provide info. Just ask.

HEC-RAS?

Ugh…