Considering a move to Oz....Suggestions?

Hey fellow riders-

First off, let me introduce myself. Emily, from Texas. Been riding bikes for what seems like forever, road for about 6 years, track bikes on said roads for the last 4 of them.

I’ve been considering long term vacation/possible move to your beautiful country for some time now, but considering I know absolutely no one there, I was hoping some of you fine folks might be able to help me out!

I’ve been trying to research cities with a good, diverse cycling culture. I am definitely a big city kind of girl (currently residing in Austin). I would also love somewhere coastal and warm, because I hate hate hate riding in the cold. Seems to me that Brisbane and Sydney are good candidates. Any residents care to weigh in?

I have been working at a LBS here in Austin for a couple years now, and would be stoked to get a shop job there as well. Are there plenty of bike shops in the bigger cities, or are good shops few and far between?

Thanks for any and all help!

<3 em

i was going to recommend melbourne 110% until i read this bit…

I’d say read each cities sub section, see which may be the best fit.

melbourne is warm, read: hot.
sydney is warm.
melbourne is warm in summer, cool in winter - but a cold morning is 39° F and you won’t get too many mornings that are that cold.

As far as bike culture Melbourne would probably be the pick, but Brisbane and Sydney have better weather. Sydney’s still good for cycling generally, and getting better, but really doesn’t have as much stuff going on as Melbourne. Can’t really vouch for Brisbane.

I’m in Sydney, and I like it. I’m sure other will weigh in with pros and cons.

Perth is also coastal and warm, but a long way from the rest of Australia. Brisbane is hot and humid in summer.

I’ve lived in Brisbane & Melbourne for extended periods and Melbourne is far better in my opinion, even with the schizophrenic weather. As Mckenny says, “cold” here isn’t freezing, no sleet, no snow.