Dodici Special Build Help

Hi

I ordered a dodici special frame (which i should be receiving in the next couple weeks! :D) size 57 which is white with red lettering. Im pretty new to fixed gear bikes and need some recommendations on which parts and what size to get for my frame as Im building from scratch. (eg cranksets/seat posts & collars all come in a variety of sizes).

For the seat post I want to get a thomson elite but have no idea what diameter or length to get. Same with the collar…

I was thinking of sugino messenger crankset but i want good parts so it all runs smoothly and looks sick (possibly phil wood BB).

I already have black rimmed complete wheels so thats all taken care of.

I live in the Adelaide CBD so there arent really any hills around. What would be a good gear ratio?

Appreciate the help!

Go Sugino 75 cranks and 75 BB. Sugino Messengers are road cranks with single chainrings.

He’ll need a sealed BB for the street…

Dura-Ace 7710 cranks and 7710 BB will do the job nicely.

Seatpost should be a 31.8mm so collar should be 34.9 (i think thats the standard size?)

Get sick Cinelli Pepper bars, cause you will be able to do mad skidz.

Thomson stem too.

Good gear, 70 gear inches… 42/16, 46/17, 49/18, 52/19 or similar.

Don’t forget the top tube pad! Don’t wanna get the beauty dinged up.

top tube pad - $33.00AUD : skin grows back, cycle courier hardware

foot retention, often an afterthought, always necessary from BOGear, whilst you’re there get an 85L backpack in case you get a job as a courier once you realise how amazing riding fixed is!

yeah decided to go with sugino 75 crankset and BB; Thomson stem with cinelli pepper riser bars and thomson elite seatpost with a brooks saddle.

Thanks for the suggestions! Ill upload pics as soon as its done!

68 inches in the sweet spot. 46/18. Learn to spin.

^Yup, with 165mm cranks.

Which Brooks saddle did you go with?