Fixie noob, well sort of

Ok firstly let me say i’m glad i found you guys, i’ve been searching for some aussie fixed info for a while.
When i say i’m a noob i mean that i have a bike on laybuy (ha ha but true!) that i might pick up next week.
Now some of you more synical types might be chastising me for picking one up off the shelf but the truth is that i’m only in it for a bit of fun. I actually picked up a Mongoose Maurice simply because of the deal i got from my regular bike shop.

my background, well i rode fixies when i was in high school. i actually got an apollo 10 speed for my 15th birthday & couldn’t wait till someone vandalised it at the school bike racks so i could cry to my parents and turn it into a fixie. This was 1984 mind you.
So that’s my first and only fixie, handlebars turned up, man i loved that bike, all my mates had em.

I’ve been into building old school bmx bikes in the last year of two, then started riding mountain bikes for fun and eventually commuting on my roadie for the last 2 years. i wanted something with a bit more style and simplicity (since i’m always taking my roadie into the shop to get the gears looked at) for fun and the occasional commmute.
So that’s pretty much my story.
Glad to be here, i’ll post some pics of my bike when i get it.

Yes it’s a pretty cheap single speed but don’t for a second think i’m not going to customise it.
:smiley:

Have you seen MASH???

just kidding, hello :mrgreen:

you know i’ve seen heaps of references to mash in the forum surfing lately and i don’t get it.
what’s the go with the mash references?

obviously i’m missing the connection

anyhoo these are my babies now

i have an addictive collecting nature so i am kinda worried about getting into fixies, more specifically vintage (or retro) single speed bikes.

Welcome SteveJ :slight_smile:

Something like a Mongoose Maurice will fit the bill perfectly I’m sure.