Giro Synthe

Let me start with a caveat - I’m no expert.

I’ve owned several helmets from several brands and covering a wide range of price points. Currently I sport a Catlike Mixino and I often borrow Steph’s Kask Mojito. Now I’ve put a Giro Synthe into the mix. I’m a bigger guy and I get very warm when I ride, so I’m usually looking for three things: fit, ventilation and appearance. I don’t like looking like a mushroom head.

Speeding past by Stephanie Young, on Flickr

The Fit.
The Synthe (in size S for me) is snug. I tried on small and medium and found the medium still left a lot of “play” around the sides of my head, while the small was snug. Initially I was a little wary as I could feel two parts of the structure clearly pressing on my head. The good news is that after getting on the bike my head and posture move enough to eliminate that feeling and give the impression I’m barely wearing a helmet at all. The Giro mechanism for tightening the helmet is solid and it clamps down well without being uncomfortable. Only the Mixino has been close. During riding the helmet barely moves and is hardly noticeable at all.

Back view by Stephanie Young, on Flickr

Comfort/Ventilation.
Having owned a Bell Sweep, Giro Atmos and Catlike Mixino - as well as using a Kask Mojito - the ventilation on the Synthe is outstanding. I was genuinely surprised at how well air passed through the helmet and around my head. The Mixino possibly does a better job at lower speeds (20km or less) but around the 30km mark the Synthe and the Mixino are inseparable. During a lunch ride where I was pushing pretty hard I could feel my head warming up, however, I could also feel the Synthe funnelling air around my head to cool it down. There is a point though at which airflow can be disrupted. Looking down at a Garmin or doing a Chris Froome (staring at your stem) will put the flat blades of the helmet into the wind and limit the air. Looking at the road works best.