New Buyer's Guide.

please post your questions / answers / recommendations here.

all other threads will be locked, repeat offenders banned.

Mod: I’m going to try a little edit / delete action to keep this thread short and clean.

Masi
Gear x Colossi (forums sponsor)
Surly Steamroller (If you can find it at that price)
Cell Bikes (forum sponsor)

whats the best frameset for about 500 bucks???

cell.

or surly steamroller, if you can find it.

i also don’t hate masi frames, despite them being ubiquitous.

Also forum sponsor Gear Brisbane’s Gear x Colossi framesets.

+1 Gear colossi

dude, this thread is specifically for inane questions! you can’t be deleting them!

Mod: They keep posting and getting answered, I keep merging into the first post and removing the chaff. Then the first post is packed full of info and you don’t have to read 50 pages of inanity to get your answer (or more likely give up and post asking it yet again).

Hi Guys,

I am new to the fixed/single speed scene. I have been riding MTBs for years and looking at getting a nice road bike to ride on the flat into work.

I am tossing up between the Felt Curbside (2011) or the Masi Speciale Flat

Before i go an buy either id thought Id ask if the specs on either are decent for the price, and if there is anything else out there i could get better bang for buck!

Hopefully i dont get flamed for this thread, but yeh some help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Felt Curbside (2011) RRP $999

Frame: Felt Single Speed Urban Design, 6061 Super-lite Aluminum Hydroformed & Butted Tubes, Hidden & removable Rear brake cable routing, CNC machined Track Dropouts w/ steel inserts, Custom Top Tube Pad/Dashboard/Protector.
Fork: Felt UHC Performance Carbon Fiber Design w/ 3KP Weave, Carbon Blades, Aluminum Crown & 1.125 Steerer, and Dropouts