Noob Stress?

This is a rant:

So I’ve been commuting a few times a week to work for 3 weeks now.
I have to say, the amount of stress I’ve got doing it is really making me reconsider.

Sure, I am new to fixed. And I admit I’ve done a few stupid things on the road (like having awkward moments at crossings with other cyclists trying to judge which way the other will turn. Left I know…)

In particular, I was on the sidewalk today because there was way too much traffic for me to cross over to the other side safely. This dude was walking infront of me. After saying “excuse me” a few times, and no response. I squeezed past him on the grass. He got surprised and swore in his own language. Then, shouted that I should be ‘cycling on the other side’. I took no notice. He called an ‘idiot’ and told me to look at him. I kept going at a sidewalk-ish pace. He then decided to run after me cursing!! I could hear his footsteps. Eventually I turned around and asked “What?”. He told me to face him like a man. I kept riding. He chased after me for 2 blocks…

Fuck man I’m just trying to get home. Does this shit get easier?

Buy a bell.

Were you at the time:
a) Under 12?
b) Supervising children on bikes who were under 12; or
c) possessed of a disability that would prevent you from riding on the road?
(these are the conditions under which a person can legally ride a bicycle on a footpath)

If none of the above, you shouldn’t have been on the footpath. If you need the footpath and you are in doubt about what to do, get off and walk.

Sounds to me like you need to

a) learn the rules as they apply to you. Vicroads and Bicycle Victoria websites are a good place to start);

b) work on some skills; and

c) relax.

In his language do they use sidewalk instead of footpath?

Is this only for Melbourne or for Sydney. Because I know further down that sidewalk, there are bike logos printed on the pavement?

When does one know where that zone ends/starts? Thanks Captain!