Retro MTB thread

Maybe time we get this sick obsession out of the ebay thread.

I’m a bit of a tragic for old mountain bikes as I started riding/racing them in the early 90s and my best days have passed me by, therefore, nostalgia.

I’ve got a 1992 Mongoose IBOC Team w M900 XTR in the build, just chasing down a few more parts (cranks and sundry fittings)

1998 GT STS-DH with NOS Rock Shox DHO, long term project, need lots of NOS parts to complete still e.g. Mavic D321CD rims, red Formula evoluzione brakeset.

1996 GT LTS-2, was built with Manitou SX-Ti and M900/M737 mix, stripped to rebuild to catalogue spec, chasing some small parts (GT flat handlebar, Vetta saddle).

1993? Shogun Prairie Breaker Pro, currently frame only again, had a bunch of different builds on it (I bought it secondhand in about 1996, been my backup frame forever)

It took me until episode 62 of Seinfeld to spot that the fork on Jerry’s Klein is the wrong way around. It’s going to bother me now.

Haha I’ll be watching for that now!
IIRC there was a green Pinnacle, a blue/silver fade Killer V Cannondale for a while and a red Adroit later on.

I saw some commuter riding a shitty rigid MTB with the fork on backwards tonight.

I saw the same last week but the stem and bars were also backwards…

Parked in a row at the good ol’ ABC bike cages this morning:

99 Raceline Enduro
91 Cadex with full XT & Judy LTs (I think)
My 89 Rockhopper
96 Cannondale F700

Nice! All rock solid commuters no doubt, hard to fault 90s Shimano MTB stuff for longevity.

Did a mockup for some color scheme ideas today with a ratty white turbo and OE Scott post I had lying around, decided the 'goose is going to get my Super Turbo after I reupholster it freshly in white and Greg Softley makes up some repro decals for the bumpers, and a black Syncros post. Fingers crossed I’ve got another set of M900 cranks with more intact logos on the way, and I have a front derailleur in the post.