The Woolshed - Ezy's house renovation.

I thought I would make this thread as people have known I have been on this journey for a while now… and not riding because of it.

So after a year of looking for houses, failed attempts at securing property at auction and offers above scenarios - Vee and I purchased a home in the area that we wanted an on a massive 880sqm block. Due to my generous inlaws - we have been able to stay with them whilst we undergo a major renovation to the house.

We are saving as much money as we can by undertaking the labour and some of the rebuilding under the guidance of Ivan, my Uncle in law who is a perfectionist. Ivan is a fabricator by trade - but built his first home on his own when he was 19. He has been a huge help and without him we would finish this project with a lot of debt and a house of lesser quality.

So - we started this process on the 27th of December and used the xmas break to get as far as we could. We stripped the house in 5 days.

The insulation that was in the roof has been kept, I will be adding this to the underfloor in the next couple of weeks.

Whilst I got busy straightening walls… Ivan started rebuilding walls, and cupboards. The blue framing is going to be the entertainment unit wall. The white cupboards are all custom made. We sketch what we would like the cupboard/wardrobe on paper - he would draw it up in Cad and get us to approve it before he cut all the melamine up to construct. These cupboards took about 3-5 days each to build and fit in. When we are only there on Saturday and Sunday you get an understanding as to why we have been doing this for so long.

Whilst Ivan was inside - I was outside grinding the thick render from the exterior. So far I am 4 full days into it - which has been spread over 2 months. I have at least one full day left.