School Project

This is the super rough plan of my experiment for science. I know the results should be obvious but its more about learning how to conduct an experiment not making an amazing discovery, my teacher said he would give points for originality.
Advice on anything will be deeply appreciated. Be warned I am a novice at riding.

Does riding the drops on a bike use less energy than riding on the tops?
Hypothesis: That riding the drops will put the rider in a more aerodynamic position
Equipment: Heart rate monitor, Bike computer, track bike, helmet, stopwatch.
Method: Ride 4 laps of the velodrome at 30 kmh an hour using the drop handlebars and record my heart rate when I cross the line, next wait till my heart rate returns to what it was when I arrived at the velodrome and do another 4 laps with my hands on the tops of the handlebars at 30 kmh, record my heart rate and then repeat. Do this once a week and record all the results, then average them and calculate the difference between the heart rates recorded when the different positions on the bike were used and conclude on which uses more energy and if it is a significant amount.

I think there will be like one million variables which you haven’t thought of.

+1

There will be a crap load of variables you will just have to ignore. Just list everything you don’t have 100% control over, temp, tyre pressure, wind changes etc.

The hardest variable to control will be speed - I’d say take the average speed over the 4 laps in each position.

You will have to work out what your maximum heart rate is before hand also. If you hit max for both sets the data won’t show anything.

What you are kind of testing for is when you hit the ‘wind wall’. You could spin this around to something like - Does riding on the drops increase maximum speed?

To test do 4 laps flat out on tops. Rest, repeat on drops. Next day reverse, drop first, tops second.

Less variables to screw around with.