SPD commute shoes

FOA brainz trust,

What’s the dealio on shoes. Thinking about dipping my toes back into SPD land, on my commuter first and (possibly) on my MTB later. Two-bolt only need apply. No triforce clacky duck-footed road shoes.

Searches on here suggest Giro Privateer are a solid choice. So will probably go try some on. My feet are on the wider side, so want to try on in-person. Sydney stockists?

What about the other Giro two bolt models. Republic? Tech lace?

0 Likes

I’ve been wearing the Giro Rumble VR for a couple years. Lace-up, comfy, look almost like normal shoes. I have ultrawide hobbit feet and they fit great.
Added bonus: Anaconda stocks them at a reasonable price.

0 Likes

although i actually own giros (roadie tho), Shimano just make the best shoes bang for buck wise imo. Haven’t had a pair of two bolt for some time but they have always been great.

0 Likes

I really like the Shimano RT4 and XC5, but no idea who might stock them…

0 Likes

+1 on Privateers, have been commuting in mine for 3 years now.

Paid $82 from evans when they were on sale.

I think theres now a lace up version of the privateers which is pretty sweet

0 Likes

i rate these 'Giro Terraduro Mountain Shoe ’

and these
shimano MO88

own both pairs currently and havent had any issues.

0 Likes

i got some of these off a mate for $20 [wrong size] - comfy to ride/walk in & recommended, cold rips stright thru them though, great for hitting a jumps park -bit soft for xc racing

0 Likes

For commuting, not racing…

And yeah, the cold goes right through them. I wear those neoprene toe covers if it’s below about 5 degrees or if it’s raining. Works a treat.

0 Likes

racing examples

• some hot girl flies past you on your commute -you have to stand & stamp the pedals to catch up to her, without puffing too badfly you can’t get a word out