Touring bikes.

im keen to jump in on the touring bikes game.
but honestly a noob here.
where do i start. i’ve researched online and am going round in circles. any help would be appreciated.
what bikes have guys got and pro’s and cons of them?
out of the research i have done, the Surley long haul trucker looks the goods and also the AWOL.
my budget is under 1700ish.
Thanks in advance.

What sort of riding are you wanting to do? That will determine the bike best suited. Heavily loaded long distance touring, off road touring, short camping trips and gravel rides etc.
If you’re keen to try bike touring, then get a touring bike. If you’re keen to just get a touring bike but not sure if you want to tour, you might be better off with something like a cyclocross bike.

Most touring bikes are built for long rides with heavy loads, and are underwhelming to ride unloaded. A CX bike still has the versatility of decent tyre clearance plus fender and rack mounts, and may end up being a better ride for commuting with occasional short trips. Also for $1700 you’ll get a lot more value for money in a CX bike.

How much are Soma Wolverines?

Framesets for under $1K when I put my deposit down, but the dollar tanked, so that may have changed.

Cool. You’re right though Rambler; best to work out what the OP has in mind for this bike.

As noted above, let us know what type of riding you’re looking at doing.
Also worth browsing Omafiets. They have Vivente World Randonneurs new and second hand, and a bunch of other light touring type bikes. http://omafiets.com.au/collections/bicycles-alpha-asc/touring

VWR - can’t go wrong value wise.

TC: This thread excites me.

They have a couple of older ones at very decent prices. Also a great looking little 53cm Riteway Sonoma. Any shorties looking for a light tourer or solid commuter could do a lot worse: http://omafiets.com.au/collections/bicycles-alpha-asc/products/ritewaysonoma53cm